Privacy Notice

Effective:  August 31, 2021

This Privacy Notice discloses the privacy practices of Jekyll Brain Inc. (“Jekyll Brain”, “we”, “us”, or “our”) with regard to the collection, use and disclosure of your information on the Swarm Buddy website, www.swarmbuddy.com (“Site”), Swarm Buddy mobile app (“Swarm Buddy App”), and other online products and services (collectively, the or these “Services”) provided by Jekyll Brain Inc.

 

Jekyll Brain recognizes that its customers, guests, registered users and visitors (collectively or individually referred as the “Users”) value their privacy. This Privacy Notice is incorporated in and subject to the Terms of Service. Your use of the Services and any personal information you provide on the Services will remain subject to the terms of this Privacy Notice and Swarm Buddy’s Terms of Service (www.swarmbuddy.com/terms).

 

1. Information Collection and Use

 

Account Information

When you create a registered account on the Services (an “Account”), you will have to provide “personally identifiable” information (such as your name, email and telephone number). Some of this information, for example, your name, can be seen by other Users on our Services.

 

Email Communications with Us

As part of the Services, you may occasionally receive email and other communications from us. Administrative communications related to your Account (e.g., for the purposes of Account recovery, password reset or updates to our Terms of Service and Privacy Notice) are considered part of the Services and your Account, which you may not opt-out from receiving.

 

We also may send you other kinds of emails if you choose to opt-in (default is opt-out) through your email settings in the Swarm Buddy App.

 

Note that we will never email you to ask for your password or other Account information. If you receive such an email, please forward it to us.

 

Guest Usage

Some Services, such as a joining a swarm (“Swarm”), do not require user registration. You can choose to use the Swarm Buddy App as a Guest. Information shared by you as a Guest including any “personally identifiable” information such as your real name can be seen by other Users on the Services. You may choose to use an anonymous name instead of your real name when joined in a Swarm.

 

Location Information

We collect and display your location information from your mobile phone device to your friends or group while you are joined in a Swarm. We immediately stop sharing your location once the Swarm ends or when you leave the Swarm.

 

Messages in the Swarm Buddy App

Our Service allows you to send and receive text-based messages through the Swarm Buddy App while joined in a Swarm. Your text messages are encrypted and are distributed only to Users in the Swarm where you post your messages.

 

We offer our registered users the ability to create Swarms. Swarms require a password to join and thus, provide an additional layer of security controlling the distribution of your text messages within a Swarm.

 

Text messages you post to a Swarm remain available for its intended recipient to view until the Swarm is deleted. Do not post any information in a Swarm that you would like to keep private. Any information you share to other Users may be shared to other people.

 

2. Cookies and Log File Information

 

When you visit our Swarm Buddy website, www.swarmbuddy.com, you will be prompted with a pop-up notification message to choose and accept cookie settings for this Site. Cookies are small data files that are transferred to your computer’s hard disk, that uniquely identifies your browser. We use cookies to provide you with personalized content, administer this website, analyze our traffic, and collect information about our visitors.

 

Essential Cookies cannot be disabled if you choose to interact with the Site. These cookies enable core functionality such as security, verification of identity and network management. You must agree to accept Essential Cookies to interact with the Site.

 

Marketing Cookies, Functional Cookies and Analytic Cookies are optional. You can choose to either enable or disable these cookies by tapping on the Settings button on the cookie pop-up notification panel.

 

3. Information Sharing and Disclosure to 3rd Parties

 

We do not sell, rent, or otherwise provide your personally identifiable information to any third parties for marketing purposes.

 

Jekyll Brain may disclose your information if we believe that it is reasonably necessary to comply with a law, regulation or legal request to protect the safety of any person or address fraud, security or technical issues.

 

4. Privacy Toward Children and Minors

 

Our Services are not directed to people under 13 years of age. If you become aware that your child has provided us with personal information without your consent, please contact us at www.swarmbuddy.com/contact. We do not knowingly collect personal information from children under 13. If we become aware that a child under 13 has provided us with personal information, we take steps to remove such information and terminate the child’s account.

 

We strongly recommend that minors, people under 18 years of age, ask their parents for permission before sending or posting any information about themselves to anyone over the Internet.

 

5. Security and Encryption

 

We use Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) to protect the security of private messages you send and receive and encrypt sensitive personal information we collect from you.

 

We use SHA-256 cryptographic hash algorithm to transform your password into a one-way hash, a string of bytes with fixed length and structure generated by a mathematical function. Your original password is never stored on our systems.

 

6. Account Deactivation

 

We may deactivate your account, with or without notification, or cease providing you with all or part of the Services at any time for any or no reason, including, but not limited to, if we reasonably believe you have violated our Terms of Service or our Community Guidelines or if we suspect your account has been hacked.

 

Upon deactivation, any content you have previously posted or shared on the Swarm Buddy App will still be stored and may be available for access by other Users on the Swarm Buddy App and by Jekyll Brain until your account is fully deleted.

 

Upon deactivation, we will try to contact you to provide you more information about your deactivation and possibly reinstate your account if the reasons for deactivation have been rectified.

 

7. Account Deletion and the Right to be Forgotten

 

Jekyll Brain respects your right to be forgotten. If you would like to delete all content that you have shared with us, you can do so by deleting your account through the Swarm Buddy App’s settings.

 

It may take up to 90 days to delete all your content.

 

Content will not be deleted within 90 days of the account deletion request in the following situations:

  • where your content has been used by others in accordance with this license and they have not deleted it (in which case this license will continue to apply until that content is deleted); or

  • where your content was posted as a Guest that does not have an associated registered account and thus your posted content cannot be linked back to you as the content owner; or

  • where deletion within 90 days is not possible due to technical limitations of our system, in which case, we will complete the deletion as soon as technically feasible; or

  • where deletion would restrict our ability to:

    • investigate or identify illegal activity or violations of our terms and policies;

    • protect the safety and security of our products, systems, and users;

    • comply with a legal obligation, such as the preservation of evidence; or

    • comply with a request of a judicial or administrative authority, law enforcement, or a government agency;

  • in which case, the content will be retained for longer than is necessary for the purposes for which it has been retained (the exact duration will vary on a case-by-case basis).

 

8. Privacy Notice Changes

 

We may revise this Privacy Notice from time to time. The most current version will govern our use of your information and will always be on this page (or such other page as the Services may indicate). If we make a change to this privacy notice that, in our sole discretion, is material, we will notify you via an email associated with your account. By continuing to access or use the Services after those changes become effective, you agree to be bound by the revised Privacy Notice.